blob: 64e368ba7d47e600c39818f7524413726395b0f6 [file] [log] [blame]
From cd32c0ac9de45f5317ca81b77aed8021f85b8dd7 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>
Date: Wed, 15 Nov 2017 17:32:29 -0800
Subject: [PATCH 0402/1795] include/linux/slab.h: add kmalloc_array_node() and
kcalloc_node()
Patch series "Add kmalloc_array_node() and kcalloc_node()".
Our current memeory allocation routines suffer form an API imbalance,
for one we have kmalloc_array() and kcalloc() which check for overflows
in size multiplication and we have kmalloc_node() and kzalloc_node()
which allow for memory allocation on a certain NUMA node but don't check
for eventual overflows.
This patch (of 6):
We have kmalloc_array() and kcalloc() wrappers on top of kmalloc() which
ensure us overflow free multiplication for the size of a memory
allocation but these implementations are not NUMA-aware.
Likewise we have kmalloc_node() which is a NUMA-aware version of
kmalloc() but the implementation is not aware of any possible overflows
in eventual size calculations.
Introduce a combination of the two above cases to have a NUMA-node aware
version of kmalloc_array() and kcalloc().
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170927082038.3782-2-jthumshirn@suse.de
Signed-off-by: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@suse.de>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Damien Le Moal <damien.lemoal@wdc.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
Cc: Hal Rosenstock <hal.rosenstock@gmail.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Mike Marciniszyn <infinipath@intel.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Santosh Shilimkar <santosh.shilimkar@oracle.com>
Cc: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
(cherry picked from commit 5799b255c491d853b73fb9e0e1760210315d06cd)
Signed-off-by: Simon Horman <horms+renesas@verge.net.au>
Signed-off-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
---
include/linux/slab.h | 16 ++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 16 insertions(+)
diff --git a/include/linux/slab.h b/include/linux/slab.h
index ae5ed6492d54..28687c296ece 100644
--- a/include/linux/slab.h
+++ b/include/linux/slab.h
@@ -630,6 +630,22 @@ extern void *__kmalloc_track_caller(size_t, gfp_t, unsigned long);
#define kmalloc_track_caller(size, flags) \
__kmalloc_track_caller(size, flags, _RET_IP_)
+static inline void *kmalloc_array_node(size_t n, size_t size, gfp_t flags,
+ int node)
+{
+ if (size != 0 && n > SIZE_MAX / size)
+ return NULL;
+ if (__builtin_constant_p(n) && __builtin_constant_p(size))
+ return kmalloc_node(n * size, flags, node);
+ return __kmalloc_node(n * size, flags, node);
+}
+
+static inline void *kcalloc_node(size_t n, size_t size, gfp_t flags, int node)
+{
+ return kmalloc_array_node(n, size, flags | __GFP_ZERO, node);
+}
+
+
#ifdef CONFIG_NUMA
extern void *__kmalloc_node_track_caller(size_t, gfp_t, int, unsigned long);
#define kmalloc_node_track_caller(size, flags, node) \
--
2.19.0