mm: drop meminit_pfn_in_nid as it is redundant

As best as I can tell the meminit_pfn_in_nid call is completely redundant.
The deferred memory initialization is already making use of
for_each_free_mem_range which in turn will call into __next_mem_range
which will only return a memory range if it matches the node ID provided
assuming it is not NUMA_NO_NODE.

I am operating on the assumption that there are no zones or pgdata_t
structures that have a NUMA node of NUMA_NO_NODE associated with them.  If
that is the case then __next_mem_range will never return a memory range
that doesn't match the zone's node ID and as such the check is redundant.

So one piece I would like to verify on this is if this works for ia64.
Technically it was using a different approach to get the node ID, but it
seems to have the node ID also encoded into the memblock.  So I am
assuming this is okay, but would like to get confirmation on that.

On my x86_64 test system with 384GB of memory per node I saw a reduction
in initialization time from 2.80s to 1.85s as a result of this patch.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190405221219.12227.93957.stgit@localhost.localdomain
Signed-off-by: Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Khalid Aziz <khalid.aziz@oracle.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: <yi.z.zhang@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
1 file changed