GPIO fixes for v4.8:

This fixes a Kconfig issue with UM: when I made GPIOLIB
available to all archs, that included UM, but the OF part
of GPIOLIB requires HAS_IOMEM, so we add HAS_IOMEM as a
dependency to OF_GPIO.

This in turn exposed the fact that a few GPIO drivers were
implicitly assuming OF_GPIO as their dependency but instead
depended on OF alone (the typical problem being a pointer
inside gpio_chip not existing unless OF_GPIO is selected)
and then UM would fail to compile with these drivers
instead. Then I lost patience and made any GPIO driver
depending on just OF depend on OF_GPIO instead, that is
certainly what they meant and the only thing that makes
sense anyway. GPIO with just OF but !OF_GPIO does not make
sense.

Also a fix for the max730x driver data pointer, and a minor
comment fix for the GPIO tools.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1
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=isIb
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
gpio: make any OF dependent driver depend on OF_GPIO

The drivers that depend on OF but not OF_GPIO are wreaking havoc
with the autobuilders for archs that have all requirements for
OF but not for OF_GPIO, particularly the UM (Usermode) arch does
not have iomem (NO_IOMEM) which result in configuring GPIOLIB but
without OF_GPIO which is wrong if the driver is using the .of_node
of the gpiochip, which only appears with OF_GPIO.

After a brief look at the drivers just depending on OF it seems
most if not all of them actually require stuff from gpiolib-of so
the dependency is wrong in the first place.

This simply patches the Kconfig so that all GPIO drivers using OF
depend on OF_GPIO rather than just OF.

Cc: Rabin Vincent <rabin@rab.in>
Cc: Pramod Gurav <pramod.gurav@smartplayin.com>
Cc: Andreas Larsson <andreas@gaisler.com>
Cc: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Laxman Dewangan <ldewangan@nvidia.com>
Cc: Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@nvidia.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>
Cc: Phil Reid <preid@electromag.com.au>
Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
1 file changed