blob: dfe611876b7363f50488e4815bc14c1d772a1058 [file] [log] [blame]
This is at least a partial credits-file of people that have
contributed to the linux project. It is sorted by name, and
formatted in a format that allows for easy grepping and
beautification by scripts. The fields are: name (N), email (E),
description (D) and snail-mail address (S). Thanks,
Linus
----------
N: Krishna Balasubramanian
E: balasub@cis.ohio-state.edu
D: Wrote SYS V IPC (part of standard kernel since 0.99.10)
N: Arindam Banerji
E: axb@cse.nd.edu
D: Contributed ESDI driver routines needed to port LINUX to the PS/2 MCA.
S: Department of Computer Science & Eng.
S: University of Notre Dame
S: Notre Dame, Indiana
S: USA
N: Peter Bauer
E: 100136.3530@compuserve.com
D: Driver for depca-ethernet-board
S: 69259 Wilhemsfeld
S: Rainweg 15
S: Germany
N: Fred Baumgarten
E: dc6iq@insu1.etec.uni-karlsruhe.de
D: NET-2 & netstat(8)
S: Kandelstrasse 27
S: 76297 Stutensee
S: Germany
N: Donald Becker
E: becker@super.org
D: General low-level networking hacker
D: Most of the ethercard drivers
D: Original author of the NFS server
S: 17100 Science Drive
S: Bowie, Maryland 20715
S: USA
N: Stephen R. van den Berg (AKA BuGless)
E: berg@pool.informatik.rwth-aachen.de
D: General kernel, gcc, and libc hacker
D: Specialisation: tweaking, ensuring portability, tweaking, cleaning,
D: tweaking and occasionally debugging :-)
S: Bouwensstraat 22
S: 6369 BG Simpelveld
S: The Netherlands
N: Hennus Bergman
E: hennus@sky.nl.mugnet.org [My uucp-fed Linux box at home]
E: csg279@wing.rug.nl [Alternate address]
D: Author and maintainer of the QIC-02 tape driver
S: The Netherlands
N: Ross Biro
E: bir7@leland.Stanford.Edu
D: Original author of the Linux networking code
N: Bill Bogstad
E: bogstad@cs.jhu.edu
D: Wrote /proc/self patch
S: Johns Hopkins University
S: Computer Science Department
S: Baltimore, Maryland 21218
S: USA
N: John Boyd
E: boyd@cis.ohio-state.edu
D: Co-author of wd7000 SCSI driver
S: 101 Curl Drive #591
S: Columbus, Ohio 43210
S: USA
N: Andries Brouwer
E: aeb@cwi.nl
D: International character handling for keyboard and console
S: Bessemerstraat 21
S: Amsterdam
S: The Netherlands
N: Remy Card
E: Remy.Card@masi.ibp.fr
D: Extended file system designer and developer
D: Second extended file system designer and developer
S: Institut Blaise Pascal
S: 4 Place Jussieu, 75252 Paris Cedex 05
S: France
N: Ed Carp
E: ecarp@netcom.com
D: uucp, elm, pine, pico port
D: cron, at(1) developer
S: 48287 Sawleaf
S: Fremont, California 94539
S: USA
N: Raymond Chen
E: raymondc@microsoft.com
D: Author of Configure script
S: 14509 NE 39th St, #1096
S: Bellevue WA 98007
S: USA
N: Alan Cox
E: iiitac@pyr.swan.ac.uk
E: gw4pts@gw4pts.ampr.org
E: GW4PTS@GB7SWN (packet radio)
D: NET2Debugged author
D: Network layer debugging
D: AX.25 & IPX alpha releases
S: <No>
N: Laurence Culhane
E: loz@holmes.demon.co.uk
D: Wrote the initial alpha SLIP code
S: 81 Hood Street
S: Northampton
S: NN1 3QT
S: England
N: Wayne Davison
E: davison@borland.com
D: Second extended file system co-designer
N: Thomas Dunbar
E: tdunbar@vtaix.cc.vt.edu
D: TeX & METAFONT hacking/maintainence
S: Dean, Graduate School
S: Virginia Tech
S: Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
S: USA
N: Torsten Duwe
E: Torsten.Duwe@informatik.uni-erlangen.de
D: Part-time kernel hacker
D: The Linux Support Team Erlangen
S: Grevenbroicher Str. 17
S: 47807 Krefeld
S: Germany
N: Drew Eckhardt
E: drew@cs.Colorado.EDU
D: SCSI code
D: Assorted snippets elsewhere
D: Boot sector "..." printing
S: 538 West Laurell Court
S: Louisville, Colorado 80027
S: USA
N: Bjorn Ekwall
E: bj0rn@blox.se
D: Driver for the D-Link parallel port Ethernet adapter
S: Myrstuguv. 83
S: S-143 32 VARBY
S: Sweden
N: Doug Evans
E: dje@cygnus.com
D: Wrote Xenix FS (part of standard kernel since 0.99.15)
N: Rik Faith
E: faith@cs.unc.edu
D: Future Domain TMC-16x0 SCSI driver
N: Juergen Fischer
E: fischer@server.et-inf.fho-emden.de
D: Author of Adaptec AHA-152x scsi driver
S: Schulstrasse 18
S: 26506 Norden
S: Germany
N: Jeremy Fitzhardinge
E: jeremy@sw.oz.au
D: Improved mmap and munmap handling
D: General mm minor tidyups
S: 99 Albermarle Street
S: Newtown 2042
S: Australia
N: Ralf Flaxa
E: rfflaxa@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de
D: The Linux Support Team Erlangen
N: Nigel Gamble
E: nigel%gamble.uucp@gate.net
D: Interrupt-driven printer driver
S: 301 Norwood Terrace, Apartment N226
S: Boca Raton, Florida 33431-6588
S: USA
N: Philip Gladstone
E: philipg@onsett.com
D: Kernel / timekeeping stuff
N: Bruno Haible
E: haible@ma2s2.mathematik.uni-karlsruhe.de
D: Unified SysV FS based on Xenix FS (part of standard kernel since 0.99.15)
S: Augartenstrasse 40
S: D - 76137 Karlsruhe
S: Germany
N: Andrew Haylett
E: ajh@gec-mrc.co.uk
D: Selection mechanism
S: GEC-Marconi Research Centre
S: West Hanningfield Road
S: Great Baddow, Essex CM2 8HN
S: UK
N: Dirk Hohndel
E: hohndel@informatik.uni-wuerzburg.de
D: XFree86
S: Universit"at W"urzburg, LS Informatik I
S: Am Hubland, 97218 W"urzburg
S: Germany
N: Nick Holloway
E: alfie@dcs.warwick.ac.uk
D: Small patches for kernel, libc
D: Makedev
S: Department of Computer Science
S: University of Warwick
S: Coventry
S: CV4 7AL
S: UK
N: Ron Holt
E: ron@novell.com
D: Kernel development
D: Contributed to kernel Wabi/Wine support
S: Novell, Inc.
S: 1700 South 122 East, Mailstop CP-1
S: Provo, Utah 84606
S: USA
N: Rob W. W. Hooft
E: hooft@EMBL-Heidelberg.DE
D: Shared libs for graphics-tools and for the f2c compiler
D: Some kernel programming on the floppy and sounddrivers in early days
D: Some other hacks to get different kinds of programs to work for linux
S: Panoramastrasse 18
S: D-69126 Heidelberg
S: Germany
N: Michael K. Johnson
E: johnsonm@sunsite.unc.edu
D: The Linux Documentation Project
D: Kernel Hackers' Guide
D: Procps
D: Proc filesystem
D: Maintain tsx-11.mit.edu
D: LP driver
S: 201 Howell Street, Apartment 1C
S: Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27514-4818
S: USA
N: Fred N. van Kempen
E: waltje@uwalt.nl.mugnet.org
D: NET-2
D: Drivers
D: Kernel cleanups
S: Hoefbladhof 27
S: 2215 DV Voorhout
S: The Netherlands
N: Olaf Kirch
E: okir@monad.swb.de
D: Author of the Linux Network Administrators' Guide
S: Kattreinstr 38
S: D-64295
S: Germany
N: Ian Kluft
E: ikluft@thunder.sbay.org
D: Smail binary packages for Slackware and Debian
S: 2200 Monroe Street #1509
S: Santa Clara, California 95050-3452
S: USA
N: Rudolf Koenig
E: rfkoenig@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de
D: The Linux Support Team Erlangen
N: Bas Laarhoven
E: bas@vimec.nl
D: Loadable modules and ftape driver
S: Mr. v. Boemellaan 39
S: NL-5237 KA 's-Hertogenbosch
S: The Netherlands
N: Warner Losh
E: imp@boulder.parcplace.com
D: Provided OI/OB for Linux, general hacker
S: 4909 Pearl East Circle Suite 200
S: Boulder, Colorado 80303
S: USA
N: H.J. Lu
E: hjl@nynexst.com
D: GCC + libraries hacker
N: Tuomas J. Lukka
E: Tuomas.Lukka@Helsinki.FI
D: Original dual-monitor patches
D: Console-mouse-tracking patches
S: Puistokaari 1 E 18
S: 00200 Helsinki
S: Finland
N: Kai M"akisara
E: Kai.Makisara@vtt.fi
D: SCSI Tape Driver
N: James B. MacLean
E: jmaclean@fox.nstn.ns.ca
D: Coordinator of DOSEMU releases
D: Program in DOSEMU
S: PO BOX 220, HFX. CENTRAL
S: Halifax, Nova Scotia
S: Canada B3J 3C8
N: Pat Mackinlay
E: pat@it.com.au
D: 8 bit XT hard disk driver
D: Miscellaneous ST0x, TMC-8xx and other SCSI hacking
S: 25 McMillan Street
S: Victoria Park, 6100
S: Western Australia
N: John A. Martin
E: jmartin@csc.com
E: jam@acm.org
E: j.a.martin@ieee.org
D: FSSTND contributor
D: Credit file compilator
S: Computer Sciences Corporation
S: 1100 West Street
S: Laurel, Maryland 20707-3587
S: USA
N: Bradley McLean
E: brad@bradpc.gaylord.com
D: Device driver hacker
D: General kernel debugger
S: 249 Nichols Avenue
S: Syracuse, New York 13206
S: USA
N: Craig Metz
E: cmetz@tjhsst.edu
D: Some of PAS 16 mixer & PCM support
S: 12305 Country Ridge Lane
S: Fairfax, Virginia 22033
S: USA
N: William (Bill) Metzenthen
E: billm@vaxc.cc.monash.edu.au
E: billm@jacobi.maths.monash.edu.au
D: Author of the FPU emulator.
D: Minor kernel hacker for other lost causes (Hercules mono, etc).
S: 22 Parker Street
S: Ormond
S: Victoria 3163
S: Australia
N: Rick Miller
E: rick@discus.mil.wi.us
D: Linux Device Registrar (Major/minor numbers), "au-play", "bwBASIC"
S: S78 W16203 Woods Road
S: Muskego, Wisconsin 53150
S: USA
N: Corey Minyard
E: minyard@wf-rch.cirr.com
D: Sony CDU31A CDROM Driver
S: 1805 Marquette
S: Richardson, Texas 75081
S: USA
N: Eberhard Moenkeberg
E: emoenke@gwdg.de
D: CDROM driver "sbpcd" (Matsushita/Panasonic/Soundblaster)
S: Reinholdstrasse 14
S: D-37083 Goettingen
S: Germany
N: Ian A. Murdock
E: imurdock@shell.portal.com
D: Creator of Debian distribution
S: 30 White Tail Lane
S: Lafayette, Indiana 47906
S: USA
N: Johan Myreen
E: jem@vipunen.hut.fi
D: PS/2 mouse driver writer etc.
S: Dragonvagen 1 A 13
S: FIN-00330 Helsingfors
S: Finland
N: Stefan Probst
E: snprobst@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de
D: The Linux Support Team Erlangen
N: Daniel Quinlan
E: quinlan@bucknell.edu
D: FSSTND Coordinator
S: Box C3529
S: Bucknell University
S: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania 17837
S: USA
N: Florian La Roche
E: rzsfl@rz.uni-sb.de
E: flla@stud.uni-sb.de
D: Net programs and kernel net hacker
S: Gaildorfer Str. 27
S: 7000 Stuttgart 50
S: Germany
N: Robert Sanders
E: gt8134b@prism.gatech.edu
D: Dosemu
N: Peter De Schrijver
E: stud11@cc4.kuleuven.ac.be
D: Mitsumi CD-ROM driver patches March version
S: Molenbaan 29
S: B2240 Zandhoven
S: Belgium
N: Darren Senn
E: sinster@scintilla.santa-clara.ca.us
D: Whatever I notice needs doing (so far: itimers, /proc)
S: 620 Park View Drive #206
S: Santa Clara, California 95054
S: USA
N: Chris Smith
E: csmith@convex.com
D: HPFS filesystem
S: Richardson, Texas
S: USA
N: Drew Sullivan
E: drew@lethe.north.net
D: iBCS2 developer
S: 22 Irvington Cres.
S: Willowdale, Ontario
S: Canada, M2N 2Z1
N: Tommy Thorn
E: Tommy.Thorn@daimi.aau.dk
D: Device driver hacker (aha1542 & plip)
S: Aarhus University
S: Computer Science Department
S: Ny Munkegade 116
S: DK-8000 Aarhus C
S: Denmark
N: Jon Tombs
E: jon@gtex02.us.es
D: NFS mmap()
D: XF86_S3
D: Kernel modules
S: C/ Teodosio 43
S: Portal 6 1-A
S: Sevilla 41002
S: Spain
N: Linus Torvalds
E: Linus.Torvalds@Helsinki.FI
D: General kernel hacker
S: Kalevankatu 55 B 37
S: 00180 Helsinki
S: Finland
N: Theodore Ts'o
E: tytso@mit.edu
D: Random Linux hacker
D: Maintainer of tsx-11.mit.edu ftp archive
D: Maintainer of c.o.l.* Usenet<->mail gateway
D: Author of serial driver
D: Author of the new e2fsck
D: Author of job control and system call restart code
D: Author of ramdisk device driver
D: Author of loopback device driver
S: MIT Room E40-343
S: 1 Amherst Street
S: Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139
S: USA
N: Simmule Turner
E: simmy@digex.com
D: Added swapping to filesystem
S: 8504 16th Street #406
S: Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
S: USA
N: Stephen Tweedie
E: sct@dcs.ed.ac.uk
D: Second extended file system developer
D: General filesystem hacker
S: Dept. of Computer Science
S: University of Edinburgh
S: JCMB, The King's Buildings
S: Mayfield Road
S: Edinburgh EH9 3JZ
S: Scotland, UK
N: Thomas Uhl
E: uhl@sun1.rz.fh-heilbronn.de
D: Application programmer
D: Linux promoter
D: Author of a German book on Linux
S: Obere Heerbergstrasse 17
S: 97078 Wuerzburg
S: Germany
N: Juergen Weigert
E: jnweiger@immd4.informatik.uni-erlangen.de
D: The Linux Support Team Erlangen
N: Matt Welsh
E: mdw@sunsite.unc.edu
D: Linux Documentation Project coordinator
D: Author, Linux Installation and Getting Started
D: HOWTO coordinator and writer
D: Maintainer of sunsite.unc.edu Linux doc archives
D: Moderator, comp.os.linux.announce
S: 205 Gray Street NE
S: Wilson, North Caroilina 27893
S: USA
N: Marco van Wieringen
E: mvw@mercury.mcs.nl.mugnet.org
D: Author of acct and quota
S: Breeburgsingel 12
S: 2135 CN Hoofddorp
S: The Netherlands
N: Stephen D. Williams
E: sdw@lig.net
E: sdw@meaddata.com
D: Consultant, entrepreneur, developer
S: 2464 Rosina Drive
S: Dayton, Ohio 45342-6430
S: USA
N: G\"unter Windau
E: gunter@mbfys.kun.nl
D: Some bug fixes in the polling printer driver (lp.c)
S: University of Nijmegen
S: Geert-Grooteplein Noord 21
S: 6525 EZ Nijmegen
S: The Netherlands
N: Lars Wirzenius
E: lars.wirzenius@helsinki.fi
D: Linux System Administrator's Guide
D: Co-moderator, comp.os.linux.announce
D: Original sprintf in kernel
D: Personal information about Linus
D: Original kernel README
D: Linux News (electronic magazine)
D: Meta-FAQ, originator
D: INFO-SHEET, former maintainer
S: Ohratie 16 C 198
S: sf-01370 Vantaa
S: Finland
N: Roger E. Wolff
E: wolff@dutecai.et.tudelft.nl
D: Written kmalloc/kfree
S: Oosterstraat 23
S: 2611 TT Delft
S: The Netherlands
N: Frank Xia
E: qx@math.columbia.edu
D: Xiafs filesystem
S: 542 West 112th Street, 5N
S: New York, New York 10025
S: USA
N: Eric Youngdale
E: eric@tantalus.nrl.navy.mil
D: General kernel hacker
D: SCSI iso9660 and ELF
S: 17 Canterbury Square #101
S: Alexandria, Virginia 22304
S: USA
N: Orest Zborowski
E: orestz@microsoft.com
D: XFree86 and kernel development
S: 1507 145th Place SE #B5
S: Bellevue, Washington 98007
S: USA