blob: dc41d45b6c6ed5959f4c0cc46adb84de788938c4 [file] [log] [blame]
From bdc36932891629dd61bbfb18e3dd499738fa648f Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Date: Fri, 18 Oct 2019 20:19:16 -0700
Subject: [PATCH] drivers/base/memory.c: don't access uninitialized memmaps in
soft_offline_page_store()
commit 641fe2e9387a36f9ee01d7c69382d1fe147a5e98 upstream.
Uninitialized memmaps contain garbage and in the worst case trigger kernel
BUGs, especially with CONFIG_PAGE_POISONING. They should not get touched.
Right now, when trying to soft-offline a PFN that resides on a memory
block that was never onlined, one gets a misleading error with
CONFIG_PAGE_POISONING:
:/# echo 5637144576 > /sys/devices/system/memory/soft_offline_page
[ 23.097167] soft offline: 0x150000 page already poisoned
But the actual result depends on the garbage in the memmap.
soft_offline_page() can only work with online pages, it returns -EIO in
case of ZONE_DEVICE. Make sure to only forward pages that are online
(iow, managed by the buddy) and, therefore, have an initialized memmap.
Add a check against pfn_to_online_page() and similarly return -EIO.
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191010141200.8985-1-david@redhat.com
Fixes: f1dd2cd13c4b ("mm, memory_hotplug: do not associate hotadded memory to zones until online") [visible after d0dc12e86b319]
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> [4.13+]
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/drivers/base/memory.c b/drivers/base/memory.c
index f180427e48f4..acd5814ed20e 100644
--- a/drivers/base/memory.c
+++ b/drivers/base/memory.c
@@ -544,6 +544,9 @@ static ssize_t soft_offline_page_store(struct device *dev,
pfn >>= PAGE_SHIFT;
if (!pfn_valid(pfn))
return -ENXIO;
+ /* Only online pages can be soft-offlined (esp., not ZONE_DEVICE). */
+ if (!pfn_to_online_page(pfn))
+ return -EIO;
ret = soft_offline_page(pfn_to_page(pfn), 0);
return ret == 0 ? count : ret;
}
--
2.7.4