blob: 02d5582dc6b4c465fe87002c4472fd5d39e84304 [file] [log] [blame]
From 4bf2b5788e6c9da872d5360577b40691bfd60dea Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Date: Thu, 30 Jan 2020 22:11:14 -0800
Subject: [PATCH] mm/migrate.c: also overwrite error when it is bigger than
zero
commit dfe9aa23cab7880a794db9eb2d176c00ed064eb6 upstream.
If we get here after successfully adding page to list, err would be 1 to
indicate the page is queued in the list.
Current code has two problems:
* on success, 0 is not returned
* on error, if add_page_for_migratioin() return 1, and the following err1
from do_move_pages_to_node() is set, the err1 is not returned since err
is 1
And these behaviors break the user interface.
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200119065753.21694-1-richardw.yang@linux.intel.com
Fixes: e0153fc2c760 ("mm: move_pages: return valid node id in status if the page is already on the target node").
Signed-off-by: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/mm/migrate.c b/mm/migrate.c
index 6a414bb23cc9..812c18c48704 100644
--- a/mm/migrate.c
+++ b/mm/migrate.c
@@ -1686,7 +1686,7 @@ static int do_pages_move(struct mm_struct *mm, nodemask_t task_nodes,
err1 = do_move_pages_to_node(mm, &pagelist, current_node);
if (!err1)
err1 = store_status(status, start, current_node, i - start);
- if (!err)
+ if (err >= 0)
err = err1;
out:
return err;
--
2.7.4