blob: 09821512d8ac66920c5a0103089cdaeb24428661 [file] [log] [blame]
From f1272fd96f91bf15d801948d7212150a2f683f1f Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: "Joel Fernandes (Google)" <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Date: Thu, 2 Jan 2020 14:46:25 -0500
Subject: [PATCH] tracing: Change offset type to s32 in preempt/irq tracepoints
commit bf44f488e168368cae4139b4b33c3d0aaa11679c upstream.
Discussion in the below link reported that symbols in modules can appear
to be before _stext on ARM architecture, causing wrapping with the
offsets of this tracepoint. Change the offset type to s32 to fix this.
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/r/20191127154428.191095-1-antonio.borneo@st.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200102194625.226436-1-joel@joelfernandes.org
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Antonio Borneo <antonio.borneo@st.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: d59158162e032 ("tracing: Add support for preempt and irq enable/disable events")
Signed-off-by: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h b/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
index 95fba0471e5b..3f249e150c0c 100644
--- a/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
+++ b/include/trace/events/preemptirq.h
@@ -18,13 +18,13 @@ DECLARE_EVENT_CLASS(preemptirq_template,
TP_ARGS(ip, parent_ip),
TP_STRUCT__entry(
- __field(u32, caller_offs)
- __field(u32, parent_offs)
+ __field(s32, caller_offs)
+ __field(s32, parent_offs)
),
TP_fast_assign(
- __entry->caller_offs = (u32)(ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
- __entry->parent_offs = (u32)(parent_ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
+ __entry->caller_offs = (s32)(ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
+ __entry->parent_offs = (s32)(parent_ip - (unsigned long)_stext);
),
TP_printk("caller=%pS parent=%pS",
--
2.7.4