blob: e17b9d0107433ed3d616beffbf2d43b31d8f50b4 [file] [log] [blame]
From d21dd93e189cfb005f9f8eeeba31809cb8f1dfb7 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Tommi Rantala <tommi.t.rantala@nokia.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Mar 2020 10:37:13 +0200
Subject: [PATCH] perf bench futex-wake: Restore thread count default to online
CPU count
commit f649bd9dd5d5004543bbc3c50b829577b49f5d75 upstream.
Since commit 3b2323c2c1c4 ("perf bench futex: Use cpumaps") the default
number of threads the benchmark uses got changed from number of online
CPUs to zero:
$ perf bench futex wake
# Running 'futex/wake' benchmark:
Run summary [PID 15930]: blocking on 0 threads (at [private] futex 0x558b8ee4bfac), waking up 1 at a time.
[Run 1]: Wokeup 0 of 0 threads in 0.0000 ms
[...]
[Run 10]: Wokeup 0 of 0 threads in 0.0000 ms
Wokeup 0 of 0 threads in 0.0004 ms (+-40.82%)
Restore the old behavior by grabbing the number of online CPUs via
cpu->nr:
$ perf bench futex wake
# Running 'futex/wake' benchmark:
Run summary [PID 18356]: blocking on 8 threads (at [private] futex 0xb3e62c), waking up 1 at a time.
[Run 1]: Wokeup 8 of 8 threads in 0.0260 ms
[...]
[Run 10]: Wokeup 8 of 8 threads in 0.0270 ms
Wokeup 8 of 8 threads in 0.0419 ms (+-24.35%)
Fixes: 3b2323c2c1c4 ("perf bench futex: Use cpumaps")
Signed-off-by: Tommi Rantala <tommi.t.rantala@nokia.com>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200305083714.9381-3-tommi.t.rantala@nokia.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/tools/perf/bench/futex-wake.c b/tools/perf/bench/futex-wake.c
index e8181ad7d088..e62006342b18 100644
--- a/tools/perf/bench/futex-wake.c
+++ b/tools/perf/bench/futex-wake.c
@@ -42,7 +42,7 @@ static bool done = false, silent = false, fshared = false;
static pthread_mutex_t thread_lock;
static pthread_cond_t thread_parent, thread_worker;
static struct stats waketime_stats, wakeup_stats;
-static unsigned int ncpus, threads_starting, nthreads = 0;
+static unsigned int threads_starting, nthreads = 0;
static int futex_flag = 0;
static const struct option options[] = {
@@ -140,7 +140,7 @@ int bench_futex_wake(int argc, const char **argv)
sigaction(SIGINT, &act, NULL);
if (!nthreads)
- nthreads = ncpus;
+ nthreads = cpu->nr;
worker = calloc(nthreads, sizeof(*worker));
if (!worker)
--
2.7.4