blob: 9565eb835484aef1dc2bdb73aa865124f238c702 [file] [log] [blame]
From 69a336ad979dfdb11f41c71afe6af64348e278c1 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Samuel Thibault <samuel.thibault@ens-lyon.org>
Date: Fri, 6 Mar 2020 01:30:47 +0100
Subject: [PATCH] staging/speakup: fix get_word non-space look-ahead
commit 9d32c0cde4e2d1343dfb88a67b2ec6397705b32b upstream.
get_char was erroneously given the address of the pointer to the text
instead of the address of the text, thus leading to random crashes when
the user requests speaking a word while the current position is on a space
character and say_word_ctl is not enabled.
Reported-on: https://github.com/bytefire/speakup/issues/1
Reported-by: Kirk Reiser <kirk@reisers.ca>
Reported-by: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Reported-by: Alexandr Epaneshnikov <aarnaarn2@gmail.com>
Reported-by: Gregory Nowak <greg@gregn.net>
Reported-by: deedra waters <deedra@the-brannons.com>
Signed-off-by: Samuel Thibault <samuel.thibault@ens-lyon.org>
Tested-by: Alexandr Epaneshnikov <aarnaarn2@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Gregory Nowak <greg@gregn.net>
Tested-by: Michael Taboada <michael@michaels.world>
Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200306003047.thijtmqrnayd3dmw@function
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/drivers/staging/speakup/main.c b/drivers/staging/speakup/main.c
index 488f2539aa9a..81ecfd1a200d 100644
--- a/drivers/staging/speakup/main.c
+++ b/drivers/staging/speakup/main.c
@@ -561,7 +561,7 @@ static u_long get_word(struct vc_data *vc)
return 0;
} else if (tmpx < vc->vc_cols - 2 &&
(ch == SPACE || ch == 0 || (ch < 0x100 && IS_WDLM(ch))) &&
- get_char(vc, (u_short *)&tmp_pos + 1, &temp) > SPACE) {
+ get_char(vc, (u_short *)tmp_pos + 1, &temp) > SPACE) {
tmp_pos += 2;
tmpx++;
} else {
--
2.7.4