blob: 49cec2a98a827711e4f099343e38edbadde6d863 [file] [log] [blame]
From 15421124ad2ce1b3272c8b8e02bfbd4d54017751 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Date: Sat, 7 Mar 2020 03:32:58 +0900
Subject: [PATCH] tools: Let O= makes handle a relative path with -C option
commit be40920fbf1003c38ccdc02b571e01a75d890c82 upstream.
When I tried to compile tools/perf from the top directory with the -C
option, the O= option didn't work correctly if I passed a relative path:
$ make O=BUILD -C tools/perf/
make: Entering directory '/home/mhiramat/ksrc/linux/tools/perf'
BUILD: Doing 'make -j8' parallel build
../scripts/Makefile.include:4: *** O=/home/mhiramat/ksrc/linux/tools/perf/BUILD does not exist. Stop.
make: *** [Makefile:70: all] Error 2
make: Leaving directory '/home/mhiramat/ksrc/linux/tools/perf'
The O= directory existence check failed because the check script ran in
the build target directory instead of the directory where I ran the make
command.
To fix that, once change directory to $(PWD) and check O= directory,
since the PWD is set to where the make command runs.
Fixes: c883122acc0d ("perf tools: Let O= makes handle relative paths")
Reported-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Marek <michal.lkml@markovi.net>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/158351957799.3363.15269768530697526765.stgit@devnote2
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/tools/perf/Makefile b/tools/perf/Makefile
index 7902a5681fc8..b8fc7d972be9 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Makefile
+++ b/tools/perf/Makefile
@@ -35,7 +35,7 @@ endif
# Only pass canonical directory names as the output directory:
#
ifneq ($(O),)
- FULL_O := $(shell readlink -f $(O) || echo $(O))
+ FULL_O := $(shell cd $(PWD); readlink -f $(O) || echo $(O))
endif
#
diff --git a/tools/scripts/Makefile.include b/tools/scripts/Makefile.include
index 495066bafbe3..8fc6b1ca47dc 100644
--- a/tools/scripts/Makefile.include
+++ b/tools/scripts/Makefile.include
@@ -1,8 +1,8 @@
# SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
ifneq ($(O),)
ifeq ($(origin O), command line)
- dummy := $(if $(shell test -d $(O) || echo $(O)),$(error O=$(O) does not exist),)
- ABSOLUTE_O := $(shell cd $(O) ; pwd)
+ dummy := $(if $(shell cd $(PWD); test -d $(O) || echo $(O)),$(error O=$(O) does not exist),)
+ ABSOLUTE_O := $(shell cd $(PWD); cd $(O) ; pwd)
OUTPUT := $(ABSOLUTE_O)/$(if $(subdir),$(subdir)/)
COMMAND_O := O=$(ABSOLUTE_O)
ifeq ($(objtree),)
--
2.7.4