blob: dea3dd258d88dfa0c2f6318c7a59981722164291 [file] [log] [blame]
From 3bbedd01ed264662b00abe6e8c192c34203d1d48 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Date: Mon, 13 Jan 2020 14:08:14 +0300
Subject: [PATCH] fbdev: potential information leak in do_fb_ioctl()
commit d3d19d6fc5736a798b118971935ce274f7deaa82 upstream.
The "fix" struct has a 2 byte hole after ->ywrapstep and the
"fix = info->fix;" assignment doesn't necessarily clear it. It depends
on the compiler. The solution is just to replace the assignment with an
memcpy().
Fixes: 1f5e31d7e55a ("fbmem: don't call copy_from/to_user() with mutex held")
Signed-off-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Andrea Righi <righi.andrea@gmail.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Peter Rosin <peda@axentia.se>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Gerd Hoffmann <kraxel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@samsung.com>
Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20200113100132.ixpaymordi24n3av@kili.mountain
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/drivers/video/fbdev/core/fbmem.c b/drivers/video/fbdev/core/fbmem.c
index d1949c92be98..43a55a22c33d 100644
--- a/drivers/video/fbdev/core/fbmem.c
+++ b/drivers/video/fbdev/core/fbmem.c
@@ -1147,7 +1147,7 @@ static long do_fb_ioctl(struct fb_info *info, unsigned int cmd,
case FBIOGET_FSCREENINFO:
if (!lock_fb_info(info))
return -ENODEV;
- fix = info->fix;
+ memcpy(&fix, &info->fix, sizeof(fix));
if (info->flags & FBINFO_HIDE_SMEM_START)
fix.smem_start = 0;
unlock_fb_info(info);
--
2.7.4