blob: ef1f2f7c577168f62588e6a514de0b4dad8d0459 [file] [log] [blame]
From a8f7cdb5dc1365b7b6c1b44c8c19d0792f1feb4e Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001
From: Tero Kristo <t-kristo@ti.com>
Date: Mon, 20 Apr 2020 11:05:59 -0500
Subject: [PATCH] remoteproc: Fall back to using parent memory pool if no
dedicated available
commit db9178a4f8c4e523f824892cb8bab00961b07385 upstream.
In some cases, like with OMAP remoteproc, we are not creating dedicated
memory pool for the virtio device. Instead, we use the same memory pool
for all shared memories. The current virtio memory pool handling forces
a split between these two, as a separate device is created for it,
causing memory to be allocated from bad location if the dedicated pool
is not available. Fix this by falling back to using the parent device
memory pool if dedicated is not available.
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Arnaud Pouliquen <arnaud.pouliquen@st.com>
Fixes: 086d08725d34 ("remoteproc: create vdev subdevice with specific dma memory pool")
Signed-off-by: Tero Kristo <t-kristo@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Suman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200420160600.10467-2-s-anna@ti.com
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
diff --git a/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_virtio.c b/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_virtio.c
index 371f4673c6be..c45ba428791b 100644
--- a/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_virtio.c
+++ b/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_virtio.c
@@ -374,6 +374,18 @@ int rproc_add_virtio_dev(struct rproc_vdev *rvdev, int id)
goto out;
}
}
+ } else {
+ struct device_node *np = rproc->dev.parent->of_node;
+
+ /*
+ * If we don't have dedicated buffer, just attempt to re-assign
+ * the reserved memory from our parent. A default memory-region
+ * at index 0 from the parent's memory-regions is assigned for
+ * the rvdev dev to allocate from. Failure is non-critical and
+ * the allocations will fall back to global pools, so don't
+ * check return value either.
+ */
+ of_reserved_mem_device_init_by_idx(dev, np, 0);
}
/* Allocate virtio device */
--
2.27.0