blob: f8f18d0c887e0ef9ef7e5c81292fe8a1c5d779f9 [file] [log] [blame]
From foo@baz Thu May 19 04:19:37 PM CEST 2022
From: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 17 May 2022 11:27:46 -0700
Subject: mmc: core: Default to generic_cmd6_time as timeout in __mmc_switch()
To: stable@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Ulf Hansson" <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>, "Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>, "Adrian Hunter" <adrian.hunter@intel.com>, "Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>, "Avri Altman" <avri.altman@wdc.com>, "Bean Huo" <beanhuo@micron.com>, "Nishad Kamdar" <nishadkamdar@gmail.com>, "Christian Löhle" <CLoehle@hyperstone.com>, linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org (open list:MULTIMEDIA CARD (MMC), SECURE DIGITAL (SD) AND...), linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org (open list), alcooperx@gmail.com, kdasu.kdev@gmail.com
Message-ID: <20220517182746.252893-4-f.fainelli@gmail.com>
From: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
commit 533a6cfe08f96a7b5c65e06d20916d552c11b256 upstream
All callers of __mmc_switch() should now be specifying a valid timeout for
the CMD6 command. However, just to be sure, let's print a warning and
default to use the generic_cmd6_time in case the provided timeout_ms
argument is zero.
In this context, let's also simplify some of the corresponding code and
clarify some related comments.
Signed-off-by: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200122142747.5690-4-ulf.hansson@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
drivers/mmc/core/mmc_ops.c | 18 ++++++++----------
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)
--- a/drivers/mmc/core/mmc_ops.c
+++ b/drivers/mmc/core/mmc_ops.c
@@ -458,10 +458,6 @@ static int mmc_poll_for_busy(struct mmc_
bool expired = false;
bool busy = false;
- /* We have an unspecified cmd timeout, use the fallback value. */
- if (!timeout_ms)
- timeout_ms = MMC_OPS_TIMEOUT_MS;
-
/*
* In cases when not allowed to poll by using CMD13 or because we aren't
* capable of polling by using ->card_busy(), then rely on waiting the
@@ -534,14 +530,20 @@ int __mmc_switch(struct mmc_card *card,
mmc_retune_hold(host);
+ if (!timeout_ms) {
+ pr_warn("%s: unspecified timeout for CMD6 - use generic\n",
+ mmc_hostname(host));
+ timeout_ms = card->ext_csd.generic_cmd6_time;
+ }
+
/*
* If the cmd timeout and the max_busy_timeout of the host are both
* specified, let's validate them. A failure means we need to prevent
* the host from doing hw busy detection, which is done by converting
* to a R1 response instead of a R1B.
*/
- if (timeout_ms && host->max_busy_timeout &&
- (timeout_ms > host->max_busy_timeout))
+ if (host->max_busy_timeout &&
+ (timeout_ms > host->max_busy_timeout))
use_r1b_resp = false;
cmd.opcode = MMC_SWITCH;
@@ -552,10 +554,6 @@ int __mmc_switch(struct mmc_card *card,
cmd.flags = MMC_CMD_AC;
if (use_r1b_resp) {
cmd.flags |= MMC_RSP_SPI_R1B | MMC_RSP_R1B;
- /*
- * A busy_timeout of zero means the host can decide to use
- * whatever value it finds suitable.
- */
cmd.busy_timeout = timeout_ms;
} else {
cmd.flags |= MMC_RSP_SPI_R1 | MMC_RSP_R1;