mm/sparsemem: support sub-section hotplug

The libnvdimm sub-system has suffered a series of hacks and broken
workarounds for the memory-hotplug implementation's awkward
section-aligned (128MB) granularity.

For example the following backtrace is emitted when attempting
arch_add_memory() with physical address ranges that intersect 'System
RAM' (RAM) with 'Persistent Memory' (PMEM) within a given section:

    # cat /proc/iomem | grep -A1 -B1 Persistent\ Memory
    100000000-1ffffffff : System RAM
    200000000-303ffffff : Persistent Memory (legacy)
    304000000-43fffffff : System RAM
    440000000-23ffffffff : Persistent Memory
    2400000000-43bfffffff : Persistent Memory
      2400000000-43bfffffff : namespace2.0

    WARNING: CPU: 38 PID: 928 at arch/x86/mm/init_64.c:850 add_pages+0x5c/0x60
    [..]
    RIP: 0010:add_pages+0x5c/0x60
    [..]
    Call Trace:
     devm_memremap_pages+0x460/0x6e0
     pmem_attach_disk+0x29e/0x680 [nd_pmem]
     ? nd_dax_probe+0xfc/0x120 [libnvdimm]
     nvdimm_bus_probe+0x66/0x160 [libnvdimm]

It was discovered that the problem goes beyond RAM vs PMEM collisions as
some platform produce PMEM vs PMEM collisions within a given section.
The libnvdimm workaround for that case revealed that the libnvdimm
section-alignment-padding implementation has been broken for a long
while.

A fix for that long-standing breakage introduces as many problems as it
solves as it would require a backward-incompatible change to the
namespace metadata interpretation.  Instead of that dubious route [1],
address the root problem in the memory-hotplug implementation.

Note that EEXIST is no longer treated as success as that is how
sparse_add_section() reports subsection collisions, it was also obviated
by recent changes to perform the request_region() for 'System RAM'
before arch_add_memory() in the add_memory() sequence.

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/r/155000671719.348031.2347363160141119237.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com

[osalvador@suse.de: fix deactivate_section for early sections]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190715081549.32577-2-osalvador@suse.de
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/156092354368.979959.6232443923440952359.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Tested-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>	[ppc64]
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Jane Chu <jane.chu@oracle.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
4 files changed