mm/sparsemem: add helpers track active portions of a section at boot

Prepare for hot{plug,remove} of sub-ranges of a section by tracking a
sub-section active bitmask, each bit representing a PMD_SIZE span of the
architecture's memory hotplug section size.

The implications of a partially populated section is that pfn_valid()
needs to go beyond a valid_section() check and either determine that the
section is an "early section", or read the sub-section active ranges
from the bitmask.  The expectation is that the bitmask (subsection_map)
fits in the same cacheline as the valid_section() / early_section()
data, so the incremental performance overhead to pfn_valid() should be
negligible.

The rationale for using early_section() to short-ciruit the
subsection_map check is that there are legacy code paths that use
pfn_valid() at section granularity before validating the pfn against
pgdat data.  So, the early_section() check allows those traditional
assumptions to persist while also permitting subsection_map to tell the
truth for purposes of populating the unused portions of early sections
with PMEM and other ZONE_DEVICE mappings.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/156092350874.979959.18185938451405518285.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Reported-by: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Tested-by: Jane Chu <jane.chu@oracle.com>
Tested-by: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>	[ppc64]
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
3 files changed